À propos

Sumptuous, spirited . . . [Russo] paints a shining fresco of a working-class community... --

Ten years after the death of the magnetic Donald Sully Sullivan, the town of North Bath is going through a major transition as it is annexed by its much wealthier neighbor, Schuyler Springs. Peter, Sullys son, is still grappling with his fathers tremendous legacy as well as his relationship to his own son, Thomas, wondering if he has been all that different a father than Sully was to him.

Meanwhile, the towns newly consolidated police department falls into the hands of Charice Bond, after the resignation of Doug Raymer, the former North Bath police chief and Charices ex-lover. When a decomposing body turns up in the abandoned hotel situated between the two towns, Charice and Raymer are drawn together again and forced to address their complicated attraction to one another. Across town, Ruth, Sullys married ex-lover, and her daughter Janey struggle to understand Janeys daughter, Tina, and her growing obsession with Peters other son, Will. Amidst the turmoil, the towns residents speculate on the identity of the unidentified body, and wonder who among their number could have disappeared unnoticed.

Infused with all the wry humor and shrewd observations that Russo is known for,

  • Auteur(s)

    Richard Russo

  • Éditeur

    Vintage Usa

  • Distributeur


  • Date de parution


  • EAN


  • Disponibilité


  • Nombre de pages

    464 Pages

  • Longueur

    20.3 cm

  • Largeur

    13.2 cm

  • Épaisseur

    2.4 cm

  • Poids

    329 g

  • Support principal


Richard Russo

  • Pays : Etats-unis
  • Langue : Anglais (etats-unis)

Né en 1949 aux États-Unis, Richard Russo a longtemps
enseigné la littérature à l'université. Il se consacre désormais à
l'écriture de scénarios et de romans dans sa maison du Maine.
Ailleurs est son neuvième livre publié à Quai Voltaire après
Un homme presque parfait (1995), Un rôle qui me convient
(1998), Le Déclin de l'empire Whiting (2002, Prix Pulitzer),
Le Phare de Monhegan (2004), Quatre saisons à Mohawk
(2005), Le Pont des Soupirs (2008), Les sortilèges du Cap Cod
(2010) et Mohawk (2011).